RITUAL

Baptiste Brossard, Helen Dowling, Sara-Lena Maierhofer

09.10.21-29.05.22

Key Visual RITUAL; Gestaltung: Matter Of

Key Visual RITUAL; Design: Matter Of

Opening on Friday, 8th of October 2021, 7 pm
For more information, please see here: program

During the pandemic, people were forced to stay away—quite literally—from many everyday rituals. From big events and walkabouts to little but important gestures such as personally shaking hands by way of greeting. With many social interactions no longer possible, it became clear how important they are for a functioning society and how rituals define and facilitate our everyday life. The group exhibition RITUAL featuring artists Baptiste Brossard, Helen Dowling and Sara-Lena Maierhofer focuses on this topic, discussing the social consensus of rituals and viewing it in a broader context with other cultures. All three artists make use of time-based media such as video or photography. Ephemeral by nature, they illustrate how new rituals come about and ultimately how changeable and vulnerable they are.

Artists:

Baptiste Brossard (*1994 in Toulouse, France, lives and works in Paris and Lit-et-Mix, France) works as a sculptor and film essayist. In his artistic practice, he is interested in well-rehearsed collective performance practices and enactments. He juxtaposes scenes of German carnival processions with military parades, scenes of fashion shows with military manoeuvres. The images in his video works appear as if collaged and suggest a sense of a familiar use of media while also leaving a feeling of unease. His film essays demonstrate how well-rehearsed rituals and patterns give rise to a feeling of belonging and thus how the individual can find their place in society.

Brossard studied Fine Art at the École nationale supérieure des beaux-arts in Lyon, graduating with distinction. He has exhibited at various venues including the Cité internationale des arts and the Palais de Tokyo. In 2018 he was awarded a work scholarship in Stuttgart under the exchange programme run by the Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes region and the state of Baden-Württemberg in cooperation with art3.

Helen Dowling (*1982 in Windsor, United Kingdom, lives and works in Brussels, Belgium) works in a multidisciplinary practice focusing on the capacity to convey empathy and emotions through the video medium. In her videos she juxtaposes photographs and objects, basic elements such as rhythm, colour and sound so as to guide the viewer through a succession of sensations that relate to and build on each other. Understanding rituals as constant repetition, she analyses human existence in terms of its most fundamental actions, that generate familiarity through repetition. Drawing on a host of images which she finds, downloads or films herself, she creates video works with a hallucinatory quality, sending the viewer on a visual journey.

Dowling received her BA from Goldsmiths College in London and her MA from the Slade School of Fine Art in London and took part in a two-year residency at the Rijksakademie van beeldende kunsten, Amsterdam. Her recent exhibitions include “Flesh of the World”, University of Toronto, “VISIO”, Villa Romana, “Disabled by Normality”, DOX Centre for Contemporary Art, Prague and “l’evento immobile”, Casa Masaccio, Tuscany. Her current research project exploring the possibilities of rhythmic entrainment in the context of moving images was sponsored by the Mondriaan Foundation.

Sara-Lena Maierhofer (*1982 in Freudenstadt, lives and works in Berlin) mainly uses photography and archive material to question and explore the past and present, memory and identity. She addresses questions of decolonialisation, restitution and memory culture, deploying photography as an instrument of power. By demonstrating the system of “colonial collecting mania”, as she describes it, she unmasks our Western view of the rituals of other cultures.

Maierhofer graduated in Photography and Media Art from Bielefeld University of Applied Sciences in 2011. Her works have been on show at the Museum für Fotografie, Berlin, FOAM Museum for Photography, Amsterdam, Zentrum für Kunst und Medien, Karlsruhe, C/O Berlin and Deichtorhallen Hamburg and feature in various permanent collections. She has received the DZ Bank Project Scholarship for Artistic Photography and the Wüstenrot Stiftung Advancement Award for Documentary Photography as well as work scholarships from the Stiftung Kunstfonds Bonn and the Kunststiftung Baden-Württemberg.

Curated by Madeleine Frey

 

The exhibition RITUAL is supported by:

Logo Volksbank

Go to Top

RITUAL

Baptiste Brossard, Helen Dowling, Sara-Lena Maierhofer

09.10.21-29.05.22

Key Visual RITUAL; Gestaltung: Matter Of

Key Visual RITUAL; Gestaltung: Matter Of

Eröffnung am 08.10.2021, 19:00 Uhr
Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier: Rahmenprogramm

Während der Pandemie mussten die Menschen von vielen alltäglichen Ritualen buchstäblich Abstand nehmen. Angefangen von Großveranstaltungen und dem Bad in der Menge bis hin zu kleinen und doch wichtigen Gesten wie dem persönlichen Handschlag zur Begrüßung. Durch den Wegfall vieler sozialer Interaktionen wurde erst deutlich, wie wichtig diese für ein gesellschaftliches Miteinander sind und wie Rituale unseren Alltag prägen und erleichtern. Die Gruppenausstellung RITUAL mit den Künstler*innen Baptiste Brossard, Helen Dowling und Sara-Lena Maierhofer greift dieses Thema auf und diskutiert den gesellschaftlichen Konsens von Ritualen und erweitert diesen in Hinblick auf andere Kulturen. Alle drei Kunstschaffenden nutzen hierzu zeitbasierte Medien, wie Video oder Fotografie. Diese verdeutlichen durch ihren ephemeren Charakter, wie neue Rituale entstehen können und letztendlich auch wie veränderbar und verletzlich sie sind.

Künstler*innen:

Baptiste Brossard (*1994 in Toulouse, Frankreich, lebt und arbeitet in Paris und Lit-et-Mixe, Frankreich) arbeitet als Bildhauer und Filmessayist. Er interessiert sich in seiner künstlerischen Praxis für eingeübte kollektive Aufführungspraktiken und Inszenierungen. So setzt er Szenen von deutschen Karnevalszügen neben militärische Paraden, Szenen von Modeschauen neben militärische Kampfübungen. Die Bilder in seinen Videoarbeiten wirken collagiert und suggerieren ein Gefühl vertrauter Mediennutzung und hinterlassen zugleich ein Gefühl des Unbehagens. Seine filmischen Essays zeigen auf, wie sich durch eingeübte Rituale und Muster ein Zugehörigkeitsgefühl generieren lässt und sich das Individuum somit selbst in der Gemeinschaft verorten kann.

Brossard studierte Bildende Kunst an der École nationale supérieure des beaux-arts in Lyon und schloss sein Studium mit Auszeichnung ab. Er zeigte seine Arbeiten u.a. an der Cité internationale des arts und im Palais de Tokyo. 2018 erhielt er ein Arbeitsstipendium in Stuttgart im Rahmen des Austauschprogramms zwischen der Region Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes und dem Land Baden-Württemberg in Kooperation mit art3.

Helen Dowling (*1982 in Windsor, Großbritannien, lebt und arbeitet in Brüssel, Belgien und in Delft, Niederlande) arbeitet in einer multidisziplinären Praxis, die sich mit der Fähigkeit beschäftigt, Empathie und Emotionen durch das Medium Video zu übertragen. In ihren Videos stellt sie Fotografien und Objekte, grundlegende Elemente wie Rhythmus, Farbe und Klang nebeneinander, um die Betrachter*innen durch eine Abfolge von Empfindungen zu führen, die sich aufeinander beziehen und aufeinander aufbauen. Sie fasst Rituale als ständige Wiederholung auf und analysiert die menschliche Existenz in ihren wesentlichsten Handlungen, bei denen Vertrautheit durch Wiederholung erzeugt wird. Aus einer Vielzahl von gefundenen, heruntergeladenen und selbst gefilmten Bildern schafft sie Videoarbeiten, die halluzinatorisch wirken und die Betrachter*innen auf eine visuelle Reise schicken.

Dowling erhielt ihren BA am Goldsmiths College in London und ihren MA an der Slade School of Fine Art in London und nahm an einem zweijährigen Aufenthalt an der Rijksakademie van beeldende kunsten, Amsterdam teil. Zu ihren jüngsten Ausstellungen gehören „Something for the Ivory “ als Teil des Rose Residency Programme de MAMbo – Museum of Modern Art of Bologna, „Open Skies“ im Wiels – Zentrum für zeitgenössische Kunst, Brüssel, „Spatial Bias“ im Lesage, Brüssel und das „UHF Straight-To-Video Film Fest“, Antwerpen. Ihr Video The Queen of Lemons gewann 2020 den Loop Acquisition Award.

Ihr aktuelles Forschungsprojekt befasst sich mit Auftragspornografie und untersucht, wie deren Produktionsstrukturen in den Bereich der Videokunst integriert werden können, indem die Handlungen in neue, divergierende Erzählungen umgewandelt werden.

Sara-Lena Maierhofer (*1982 in Freudenstadt, lebt und arbeitet in Berlin) nutzt hauptsächlich Fotografie und Archivmaterial zur Befragung und Erforschung von Vergangenheit und Gegenwart, von Erinnerung und Identität. Sie geht Fragen zu Dekolonialisierung, Restitution und Erinnerungskultur nach und nutzt die Fotografie als Instrument der Macht. Sie entlarvt dabei unseren westlichen Blick auf die Rituale anderer Kulturen, indem sie das System der „kolonialen Sammelwut“ – wie sie es selbst nennt – aufzeigt.

Maierhofer schloss 2011 ihr Studium der Fotografie und Medienkunst an der Fachhochschule Bielefeld ab. Ihre Arbeiten wurden im Museum für Fotografie, Berlin, FOAM Museum for Photography, Amsterdam, Zentrum für Kunst und Medien, Karlsruhe, C/O Berlin und Deichtorhallen Hamburg ausgestellt und sind in mehreren ständigen Sammlungen vertreten. Sie wurde mit dem DZ Bank Projektstipendium für künstlerische Fotografie und dem Dokumentarfotografie Förderpreis der Wüstenrot Stiftung ausgezeichnet und erhielt Arbeitsstipendien der Stiftung Kunstfonds Bonn und der Kunststiftung Baden-Württemberg.

Kuratiert von Madeleine Frey

 

Die Ausstellung RITUAL wird gefördert durch:

Logo Volksbank

Nach oben